Hougang Heritage, Building, Murals Trail
Welcome to Hougang mural
Block 25 Hougang Ave 3, Singapore 530025
Block 25 is part of the first generation of buildings constructed by the Housing & Development Board (HDB) during the redevelopment of Hougang in the 1980s. Certain blocks of the entire town were planned and painted with murals to add color and interest to the buildings. There is a mural with a clear sky painted on the outer wall of Block 25, welcoming visitors to Hougang Town.
大牌25 是 1980 年代后港重建期间建屋发展局建造的第一代建筑物的一部分。 整个城镇的某些街区被规划并涂上壁画，为建筑物增添色彩和趣味。 大牌25外墙绘有一幅晴朗天空的壁画，欢迎游客来到后港镇。
Rainbow Block 316
316 Hougang Ave 7, Singapore 530316
Block 316 is part of the first generation of buildings built by the Housing & Development Board (HDB) during the redevelopment of Hougang in the 1980s. During this period, the HDB began to create a greater sense of identity for residential areas through the design of towns and streets. Therefore, certain blocks in the entire town are also painted with murals to add color and interest to the buildings. For example, the well-known Hougang Rainbow Block 316 has been painted with rainbow murals since its inception. Over the years, despite changes to the rainbow design, the block continues to be painted with rainbow murals, which is the modern symbol of Hougang Town today.
大牌316是 1980 年代后港重建期间建屋发展局建造的第一代建筑物的一部分。 在此期间，建屋发展局开始通过城镇和街道的设计为住宅区创造更大的认同感。 因此，整个城镇的某些街区还涂有壁画，为建筑物增添色彩和趣味。 例如，广为人知的后港彩虹祖屋大牌316，从建成之初就被涂上了一幅幅彩虹壁画。 多年来，尽管对彩虹设计进行了修改，但该街区继续涂有彩虹壁画，是今天后港镇的现代标志。
Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary (National Monuments)
1259 Upper Serangoon Rd, Singapore 534795
The Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary is the oldest place of worship in Hougang. Its history began in 1852 when the French missionary Les Mission Étrangères de Paris, MEP sent its first missionary Father Ambroise Maistre to Hougang. Father Maistre obtained land from the colonial government and established an Atta chapel in 1853 to serve the growing number of Chaozhou Catholics. The church was originally called St. Mary’s Church and was later rebuilt as a brick building.
圣母圣诞堂是后港最古老的礼拜场所。 它的历史始于 1852 年，当时法国的巴黎传教士 Les Mission Étrangères de Paris，MEP 将其第一位传教士Ambroise Maistre 神父派往后港。 Maistre 神父从殖民政府那里获得土地，并于 1853 年建立了一个阿塔小教堂，为不断增长的潮州天主教徒提供服务。 该教堂最初被称为圣玛丽教堂，后来被重建为一座砖砌建筑。
At Hougang can find many huge HDB murals 在后港可以找到许多巨型组屋壁画. There are 22 Community Murals in total painted by the students of Xinmin Secondary School over 2 phases in 2006 and 2014. 新民中学学生在2006年和2014年分两期绘制的壁画共22幅。
Kampong Lorong Buangkok
Kampong Lorong Buangkok is a village located in Buangkok in Hougang, Singapore. Built in 1956, it is the last surviving kampong located on Singapore Island in the 21st century. A wide canal ran alongside the kampong, which links to Sungei Punggol that drains into the eastern Straits of Johor.